Skip to content
The Year of the OX

The Year of the OX

With the Year of The Ox fast approaching its a good time to start learning what it means.

Each year of the Chinese calendar is associated with a Chinese zodiac animal. The Chinese zodiac signs are in the following order:

Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig. 

Each sign is named after an animal and each animal has its own unique characteristics. The second animal in the cycle is the Ox. According to the story the Ox arrived second because he kindly offered the rat a ride to the Jade Emperor's palace. However on arrival the devious rat jumped in front of the Ox.

The 12th of February marks the start of the Year of the Ox, referring also to cows, bulls and buffalos. The ox is considered an animal of strength in China and is also associated with harvests and fertility. Feng shui regards the animal as auspicious and ox has a reputation of granting wishes. It also seen as an animal of great value.

Those born in the Year of the Ox are said to be hard workers in the background, positive, honest, intelligent and reliable, but never demanding praise.

Previous article Liam Lau - Nottingham Foodie
Next article Warming Teas

Blog posts